HomeLatest NewsEURO 2020: The Post-Lockdown Summerfest of Soccer

EURO 2020: The Post-Lockdown Summerfest of Soccer

After the devastating effects of the coronavirus pandemic, which led to the cancelation of virtually every major event, the EURO 2020 is making a comeback in the summer. The soccer tournament scheduled to take place in 2020 will now run between June 11 and July 11.


The EUFA EURO 2020 is the 16th version of Europe’s continental soccer championship. The international men’s soccer tournament is organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) every four years. It was postponed to minimize pressure on the public amenities in the affected countries. Besides, the organizers felt that the domestic leagues should be adequate time to complete the fixtures following the suspensions brought about by enforcing the lockdown measures.

For the first time in the competition’s 60-year history, it will be played all across Europe, with 11 cities playing hosts. The 24 teams taking part are divided into six groups. Despite the many venues, the tournament’s format remains the same; the top two teams in every group would proceed to the next round, where the four best third-placed finishers will join them.

The tournament is being held in the 11 venues as a romantic once-in-a-lifetime event celebrating the 60th birthday of the competition’s inception.

Graphic from: www.freebetoffers.org.uk

The Groups

Former champions Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, and Wales, will face off in Group A. Group B has Belgium, Russia, Denmark, who has won the tournament once, and Finland. Another former champion, the Netherlands, will play host to Ukraine, Austria, and North Macedonia in Group C, while Group D consists of England, Croatia, Czech Republic, and Scotland.

Group E has Spain, Poland, Sweden, and Slovakia, while the last group has Germany, France, Portugal, and Hungary.

Germany and Spain lead the other countries in medal hauls. The two have each won the championship three times. Other past champions are France, who has lifted the cup twice, and Netherlands, Portugal, Italy, Denmark, Czechoslovakia, Soviet Union, and Greece with a win each. 

The Venues

The 11 venues are England’s Wembley Stadium, which will host three group games, two round of 16 matches, the two semi-finals, and the final game. Saint Petersburg Stadium will host six group stage matches and one quarter-final duel. Baku Olympic Stadium, Football Arena Munich, and the Stadio Olimpico in Rome will host three group stage games and one quarter-final match each.

The remaining six venues are the Johan Cruijff ArenA in Amsterdam, the National Arena Bucharest, Puskás Aréna in Budapest, Copenhagen’s Parken Stadium, Hampden Park in Glasgow, and Spain’s Stadium La Cartuja Sevilla.

Italy will kick off the tournament in a match against Turkey on June 11, at the Stadio Olimpico from 15:00 ET.

Where to Watch the Tournament

Thanks to the organizer’s official partners, the whole drama of the tourney would be broadcasted throughout the world. Fans have access to various viewing options, including live matches, delayed coverage, digital broadcast, and highlights.

Fans in the U.S. can watch all the 51 games live games via either ESPN or Univision. Aside from the live matches, other broadcast packages are also available.

John Milton
John Milton
Having worked in the marketing department at two online sports betting sites, John brings his love of sports to serve BigOnSports as chief writer. He will be researching and writing about the sports betting community to improve your experience as a sports bettor.

Most Popular